Skip to content

Victory baby

November 11, 2011

I read this post, Do you need a victory baby? over on Rookie Moms, and it struck a bit of a chord for me.  For instance, I remember last time (the day before going into labour) being told that we might have to schedule an induction, and how much of a letdown that felt to me.

Because we had so much help getting both G and Io installed in the first place, it really does seem important to me to that my ‘victory baby’ comes in the form of a) the baby’s gender being unknown until I can see for myself (a little mystery in the process, please!), and b) a natural labour (no induction, drugs or c-section) – where my body shows it really can get this baby thing done.

And really, when it comes down to it, the victory baby really should just mean carrying a happy healthy baby to term, regardless of how it gets out.  I’m mindful that while my successful birth last time should mean I have a reasonable chance of achieving what I want this time, nothing is a given, and I need to prepare for it not to feel like a failure should I need that final little bit of help over the finishing line.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 11, 2011 6:20 pm

    I still feel like I failed somehow for needing to be induced at 2 weeks overdue, and then to need an emergency C section – would it have been different if I’d eaten better? Exercised more? Sat differently? Changed position? Pushed harder? Did people (er…Mum…) compare me to you, and think it was my fault?. So for me, I can see the idea of wanting things to go differently if I had another one.
    But whenever I feel bad about the way things went, I try to remember that I did my best, and I’m so grateful to have had a wonderful doctor who knew what he was doing, and an operating theater thirty seconds away when we needed it. The Pugs’s birth was still amazing, especially when, if I’m being dramatic, a hundred years ago neither of us might have made it through it.

    • The Barreness permalink*
      November 11, 2011 6:32 pm

      I think it was clear to everyone (which includes Mum) that Pugs was just stuck – you’d done the hard yards of getting to push, and nothing you were going to do was to get her out. We had the excited text messages right up to that point from The Tall Guy, and then there was radio silence for a couple of hours, which put us on red alert. Our reaction was nothing but worry and concern that clearly something was not going smoothly, and getting you and Pugs home both safe and sound was victory enough. Amazing what a different perspective brings!

  2. katery permalink
    November 12, 2011 7:19 am

    well, try not to expect more than is reasonable from yourself, you can’t predict what will happen when you have this baby, but i hope it goes the way you would like it to.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

