Skip to content

Take 3 Puregon and call me on Monday

February 6, 2009

A panicked rush-hour drive this morning along with some clever backstreet moves from The Baron saw us at Epworth right on time for my first ultrasound this cycle.  Unfortunately, my follicles are apparently much less in a hurry than we were, and while I seem to have a nice number (31), with 10 between 9-12mm, things haven’t moved swiftly enough for them to consider triggering me tonight.  Instead, they want me to have 3 more days on the Puregon, and another scan on Monday.

So now my nice timetable is all mucked up, because I had next week all planned to take Monday and Friday off, and now that’s not going to happen.  I’m meant to be in Sydney on Thursday next week and the following Thursday in Brisbane, and I’m feeling a little anxious about how I’m going to be able to fit my treatment around work. The nurse can’t give me an answer until Monday, and thinks pick up could be either Wednesday or Thursday – and if it’s Thursday and I need to be in Sydney that day, the whole cycle gets cancelled. Which of course I can’t do – we’ve invested too much in this.

I know I shouldn’t be worrying about it – if I’m not well enough to go to work, everything will run without me – but I’ve always been a control freak.  Perhaps it stems from too much A-Team in the 80s as a child – I love it when a plan comes together.  And I pity the fool who gets in my way when it doesn’t.

So I will be stomping around this weekend, albeit in a rather wilted fashion as they are predicting 43 degrees again tomorrow.  At the same time, reminding myself that a) I’m not looking like I’m overstimulating, which means this cycle shouldn’t be cancelled, b) there are lots of follies, and a good number growing fairly consistently, and c) I’ve  had little if any side effects so far.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

