Skip to content

Don’t ask me where I keep the rabbit

February 24, 2009

In IVF language I am 7dpt5dt today, or if you prefer 12dpo. In the real world, my period would have arrived today, but thanks to my magic wands of crinone (a non-oral, non-nasal, non-injectable drug – get the picture?) it appears that TA DA things have been delayed downstairs a little.

Now before anyone gets excited, apparently this is a very normal side effect of progesterone, along with other misleading symptoms including mild cramps and very sore boobs. I’m not going to get a reliable answer as to the outcome until the blood test scheduled for Friday.

But until then I am PUPO – Pregnant Until Proven Otherwise.

What this means in real terms is I that must act pregnant – which means no fresh cheese, no mayo, no Diet Coke, no coffee, no strenuous exercise (heart rate under 140) yadda yadda. I’m rapidly getting tired of this method acting, particuarly when old men on creaky bikes overtake me on my morning commute, while I have to stop pedaling until my heart rate monitor stops squawking. Not the most relaxed way to start the day!

If Friday comes with a BFN as expected, I am so treating myself this weekend to a real coffee, a big slab of gorgonzola, a diet coke and a good ride with the girls on Sunday!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 25, 2009 1:29 am

    I meant to put this comment:

    For me, the wait and its required pretending was the hardest part. But, I think you have the perfect attitude.

    Here!

  2. onepinkline permalink
    February 25, 2009 1:38 pm

    You’ve touched on the one thing that’s kept me going through this whole process so far. That for 10 days after my transfer (give or take) I will be pregnant. It may be the only time in my life and that part – I intend to hold on to. The waiting sucks to be sure. Hope the outcome pleasantly surprises you.

Leave a Reply

