Skip to content

Ups and downs this week

June 6, 2009

I had a little scare this week, which I am taking as my signal to slow things down just a little. I was walking to the gym after work, and I started getting really strong stretching pain all around my abdomen, like the baby bump was bouncing up and down and pulling on every tendon. A minute or two from the gym, and the pain became so much that I knew I was going to faint, so I sat down on some steps, and basically blacked out for a few minutes. Luckily, a security guard found me immediately, and called for an ambulance, while continuing to talk me through slow breathing.

By the time the ambos showed up I was lucid again, and my blood pressure was back up, but they took me to the A&E at the local women’s hospital just to be sure. I felt terribly embarassed about the whole thing, but it was reassuring to get a full check over, including a check for Peanut’s heart beat (nice and strong) – and it served to freak The Baron out totally.

According to my Ob, it’s actually fairly common in the second trimester for both the bouncing and fainting to happen – it’s likely that the pain caused a drop in blood pressure, which is already very low for me on a regular basis.

Because this pregnancy has been trouble free so far, I’ve taken for granted the fact that I can continue to do just about everything I was doing before – and this was a big wakeup call that my body can be easily affected by things I wouldn’t consider stressful. So I’ve been taking it a little easier, although it’s good to know this is likely to be a temporary risk only – BP starts going back up again once you reach the middle of the pregnancy.

But on the upside, I’m pretty sure I’m now feeling Peanut move. I’ve been unsure up until now as I was not really sure what I was looking for – many people describe it as butterflies, and others like a gas bubble (romantic, huh!). But I’ve had this sensation several times over the last week of a push from inside (exactly what you would expect to feel), in different places around my abdomen, which I’ve never had before. It’s quite exciting, and I’m really looking forward to it, as it will be a nice daily reminder that things are going well down there (always a worry for an IVFer I think!).

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 7, 2009 10:06 am

    Much kudos to the security guard, I would be worried that if the same thing happened to me people would think I was a wino, and leave me sprawled there. Hope you feeling ok now and TAKING IT EASY.
    XXXXX

Leave a Reply

