Skip to content

Half baked

June 19, 2009

Twenty weeks! Celebrated by allowing a strange man spread icy cold gel all over my tummy (hey, that’s how I roll). Luckily we saw nothing alarming on the scan, other than a rather spooky looking head with voids where the eyes should be. (Note to self: apparently calling your unborn child ‘freakish’ will get you immediate entry to the Bad Mother Club).

Oh, and in case anyone’s wondering, we did not find out the baby’s sex. I think I will follow Kaz Cooke’s example and answer all future questions about what we hope to have with a reply such as “A giraffe. They’re up and running an hour or so after birth, and starting to feed themselves”. Oh yep, Bad Mother.

I seem to have popped a little bump this week too, much to the delight of everyone at work, many of whom have been visiting daily to check the progress of my tummy. Apparently I’m at the ‘cute bump’ stage, which I assume I will remain in for about 3 weeks before entering the ‘I’m a whale’ stage. I suspect the final stage will be the ‘nothing fits me except my duvet’ stage. Luckily I should be home on maternity leave by that point, fingers crossed.

In fact, I have only about 3 more months of work ahead of me, which is unnerving. I know I will be busier than I can ever imagine right now, but the thought of walking away from my job for 6 or 12 months is very strange, and I know will take some getting used to.

My expectations of what I will be capable of also apparently require some adjustment. The Baron’s parents are due to visit us from Italy in February, and I am signed up for 2 semesters-worth of refresher classes before Peanut arrives to cope with the fact that they don’t speak English. Fair enough – but my plans for an intensive course in Jan (3 hours a day for a week) elicited strange snorts from my best friend, a veteran of 2 newborns. I think she’s trying to tell me something…

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 17, 2009 10:27 am

    Unadulterated words, some truthful words man. You made my day!

Leave a Reply

