Skip to content

A down day

February 17, 2010

Man, today’s been a rough day – I think G’s going through her 3 month growth spurt.  For the past few days (and particularly today) she has screamed blue murder practically each time I bring her towards the boob to feed her.  I’ve discounted things like wind and reflux as causes, since it doesn’t happen with feeds after she’s had a good sleep.  She’s also been incredibly tired but only sleeping for 45 min at a time, and hungry (feeding almost every hour). Those magical sleeping through the night days seem to be a distant memory as well.  It’s particularly hard, since the thing that would normally bring her comfort is the thing which is distressing her so much – and yet I need to keep trying since she needs to feed.

This would probably be old hat for people who’d been through a slightly rougher 4th trimester, but G was really a gem of a baby, which is why this is coming as such a shock to me now.  I keep asking her where this came from!  Fngers crossed we’ve only got a couple more days of it – if not, might have to have a chat with our maternal health nurse.

G’s Nonna and Nonno arrive for a 7 week visit from Italy next week, and I am really worried they’ll see her like this and wonder about my parenting skills.  Unfortunately they don’t speak English, so my chances of explaining that she’s not normally like this are low!

But you know what?  I am so incredibly lucky.  I followed a link on one of the blogs I read, to find another woman announcing she has a 6 month-old daughter, and 8 months left to live following a cancer diagnosis.  I can’t even begin to imagine the pain of having to get ready to say goodbye to a child you’ve only just met.

These down days like today will pass for me, and I will learn to cherish each and every one of them, because I get to spend them with her.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. katery permalink
    February 17, 2010 11:58 pm

    i wouldn’t worry too much about what nonna and nonno will think, people who have had children of their own are very aware that there are rough patches.

  2. February 18, 2010 8:29 pm

    One benefit of bottle feeding (had to look for the positives when I had no choice) was that I never had to worry about them snacking. The 45 minute sleep cycles are a pain in the butt though. They come and go through various growth spurts and wonder weeks. I remember things went a little haywire at 3 months whilst I tried to figure out their adjusted needs. As for Nonna and Nonno’s… they think what they want to think even if they have English skills 😉

Leave a Reply

