Skip to content

Dream feed redux

February 22, 2010
tags: ,

My sister mentioned she thought I had given up on the dream feed idea, so I thought it was time for an update.  Last night Lady G slept from 7pm to 6am with the assistance of her feed at 10.30 – yay!  Less good was the fact that I still woke at 4am expecting at any moment she would wake wanting to be fed, with rock hard painful boobs which proceeded to dribble onto the mattress for the next 2 hours (thank goodness for mattress protectors).  So I hope tonight that both of us can get a little extra sleep, because I can certainly live with a 6am wakeup call.

She’s slowly starting to pick and choose the times that a dummy will settle her off to sleep, and I’ve noticed instead that she does this incy-wincy-spider kind of thing with her hands before she nods off.  It’s pretty common for babies to have sleep associations like this  (or being rocked to sleep or a dummy) so I’ve been trying not to rock her to the point of sleep before putting her down.

I’ve found a whole lot of helpful articles about sleep at The Sleep Store, one of which suggests that if I am going to stop the rocking, it’s good to replace it with another positive sleep association.  So I’ve bought her a sleep comforter called a cuski which should be another thing she can play with with her hands.  We’re off to New Zealand to see family in a few weeks, and knowing her sleep routine will be disturbed figured it would be a good thing to give her before we go so she starts to associate that with sleep, no matter where she is.  Cute huh!

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 24, 2010 10:19 pm

    We’ve created a rod for our own back, rocking our little one to sleep every night seemed like a good idea when he was brand new and tiny and all we wanted to do was hold him but now we’re starting to teach him to self settle it’s just heartbreaking… I’m trying to do SOS but at the moment I quite hate Tizzie Hall.

    oh and so glad you’re blogging again, I’ve wondered how you got on 🙂

Leave a Reply

