Skip to content

Welcome

February 22, 2010

This is my first time doing the ICLW so I suppose I should give some sort of introduction, a quick summary of the past couple of years.  I still recall the thrill when The Baron and I sat down and said, ‘we’re actually trying now!’  I tracked, I measured, I became very familiar with many bodily fluids and we were convinced things would happen in due course.  As it turned out, we needed a little assistance in the form of ICSI, although we were incredibly lucky to have the only quality one of our 4 embies from our first cycle stick, stay and grow stronger.  She now slumbers peacefully in our bedroom, and to the outside world, we look like any normal family.

It’s a nice thing to play at – but I know that if we want to extend our family any futher, we need to face the beast all over again – and who knows what the dice will throw next time.  A relative who also went through IVF (lucky first time too) weaned her baby at 6 months and has now had 3 unsucessful FET cycles.  Another blogger who’s baby was born at the same time as Lady G writes that she’s already scheduled to see her FS in March to kick things off, and we’ll have to decide very soon when, and how, we’ll try again.

So you see, we are still very much part of this world, despite our incredible luck, and I’m looking forward taking my place amongst the very brave and supportive women here.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. February 23, 2010 1:07 am

    Good luck in the decision to expand your family. We were blessed with a baby last year after IUI #4. We have decided to not have any more for a mulitude of reasons. Mainly – why when we already have perfection? :0)
    ~ICLW

  2. February 23, 2010 4:41 am

    I totally understand that fine line that exists between IF and AFTER IF, and how to be on both sides. It doesn’t end or go away so easily, or like it never existed. and Hello!

    ICLW

  3. February 23, 2010 5:48 am

    I totally understand where you are right now! My son (conceived on first IVF attempt) is almost one year old now and given that I will be 36 in May, we definitely need to start thinking about baby #2. We have 3 frozen embryos, but as you point out, FETs are not necessarily going to work. I hate that I will have to “face the beast” again! All the luck to you and your family. ICLW.

  4. February 23, 2010 10:00 pm

    Good luck with the decision to expand your family. I hope everything works out well.

    Stopping by for ICLW

  5. February 24, 2010 3:32 pm

    Congrats on your baby and i can imagine its a complicated decision to go through it all again, I hope you guys are successful in whatever you decide to do!

    ICLW

  6. February 25, 2010 8:27 am

    It’s my first time doing ICLW, too, so I figured I’d come by and say hi. I like that you have a positive experience to share with others.

  7. February 28, 2010 4:56 pm

    Good luck with everything 🙂

    ICLW

  8. March 1, 2010 6:05 am

    I’m not where you are just yet, but I imagine myself there…having struck gold once, knowing what it’s going to take to do it again, and trying again anyways because you just want it so bad!

    Best of luck to you in TTC #2. 🙂

Leave a Reply

