Skip to content

Benvenuto a Melbourne!

February 25, 2010

So after a 24 hour journey, Nonno and Nonna are in the house.  Actually since our house is so small, they are staying in a flat 5 minutes away, the rental of which is a very kind gift from my parents who were party to my private panic about spending 7 weeks in a 2 bedroom house with my non-English speaking in-laws and a 3 month old baby.  So far it’s not been nearly as bad as I was expecting, although my Italian is very rusty, and I’ve spent quite a bit of the day in front of Google Translate, which has been a godsend.

I’m interested to find out any variances in parenting between here and Italy – they have 3 other grandchildren from The Baron’s brother who lives in Turin.   For example, it seems more common in Italy for grandparents to take on a bigger degree of childcare, particularly after school as the parents still work late and this is the same for my in-laws. I do like the idea, and would love it for The Bee, but with one set living in New Zealand and one set in Italy, that’s not going to be possible.

Lady G’s cloth nappies also appear to be a bit of a novelty, although that’s generally the case in Australia as well according to my Maternal Health Nurse (anyone else find they need to stop themselves calling her the Mental Health Nurse?  No?  Just me?  Carry on then.)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 25, 2010 12:28 pm

    Congrats on Lady G!

    You’re not the only one calling the nurses Mental Health nurses – the ones I had when we first got home nearly made me go mental.

    Hope the grandparents’ visit go smoothly (well smoother than mine and they were my folks ;))

  2. katery permalink
    February 26, 2010 3:12 am

    i’m glad the visit its going well then! i’ve just sent my friend who’s expecting a baby a starter set of gdiapers which can be cloth or disposable, i wish i could say i’m using cloth diapers since they are probably best, but i’m not.

Leave a Reply

