Skip to content

Lady of the cloth

February 26, 2010

Speaking of cloth nappies as I was yesterday, I’m looking for a solution to leaking nappies overnight, and would be open to any suggestions. Warning, the rest of this post is MCN evangelism – if you’re not interested I suggest you look away now!

I do love her cloth nappies, which are lightyears away from the large cotton squares and safety pins my mother used on me back in the 70s.  These days they are shaped exactly like disposables, have velcro closures, require no soaking or bleaching and are as easy to care for as doing a load of washing.  Besides the fact that they are colourful and cute, there are also the environmental benefits (even in drought-prone Australia) of using less water and energy to produce, and taking up much less landfill.  However, and this is probably the clincher for me – my stash has probably cost around $900 to set up, which is quite a big outlay – but the estimated cost of nappies for a newborn to toilet training is around $3000, and my stash can provide for 2 kids, as well as have a resale value.

However, one little problem for us right now.  While Lady G was waking in the middle of the night, a nappy change kept things nice and dry, but I’ve noticed that her 10-12 hour stretches are causing some leaking up her back and out the gusset when she lies on her side.  At the moment the only thing that keeps her dry is a BumGenius or FuzziBunz pocket shell, stuffed with one microfibre insert, and a folded Booroi bamboo prefold.  That’s 8 layers, which adds up to around an inch of padding around our Bee’s bum, giving her a distinct John Wayne air.  I’d really like to get that down a little, so will be trying the following:

Ultimately, I know I can revert to disposables, but I’d really like to find a workable solution using cloth.

Thank you.  I now return you to your regularly scheduled programme of parenting and IF rants.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 28, 2010 10:51 pm

    D isn’t that much of a heavy wetter and we still struggle with the nighttime, it seems to be an all too common problem. At the moment I’m double boosting (6 layers total) mini lala’s for night which is actually doing pretty well considering.

    I have heard fantastic things about ecobubs as a night nappy, it’s def worth buying one or two to trial and see if it’s the answer.

    • The Barreness permalink*
      March 2, 2010 11:27 am

      Good to hear about Ecobubs – will try to pick up a couple in NZ when I am there. The bsmboo boosters so far have worked well, no leaks since thst post!

  2. March 1, 2010 7:16 pm

    We’ve been dismal failures with cloth nappies and I do admire those who’ve persevered. I remember the tiny little dabs they’d produce when they were newborns and wonder what on earth we found so off-putting. I’ve tried converting us to environmentally friendly disposables but supermum’s rebelled each time due to the smell. And for some reason they do smell particularly horrendous. I suppose we’ll just have to find some other way of doing penance (as if the economic cost you highlight wasn’t penance enough…)

    • The Barreness permalink*
      March 2, 2010 11:40 am

      We haven’t got to solids yet, but plan to use flushable liners in the cloth nappies when we do, so hopefully the pain will be over quickly! Hey, we have 4 cats with inside litter trays – how bad can it be??

Leave a Reply

