Skip to content

A third of the way there

March 8, 2010

My bee is 4 months old today, which means I have used up over a third of my maternity leave already, a fact which has been weighing heavily on me over the past week.  I finally woke up the other day with my mind made up that I won’t return to work before October, even though I had earlier  thought about a part-time return when Lady G reaches 6 months.

Financially we’ll be OK, although it may delay our next round of IVF a little.  But I recognised that I may not get a second chance at this, these initial 12 months and I have so much to miss out on if I return too early.  She wouldn’t be crawling – much less walking, or eating solids, or talking.  I want to be there for all of these firsts of my precious first.  She still needs me so much right now, and I want to get her to the point where she’s ready for the rest of the village to start helping to raise her.  I’m lucky that my job will still be there, and this year off is a luxury I think I would regret if I didn’t take up.

So what’s the Bee been up to this month?

  • Lots of talking – although it’s more growling than identifiable syllables.  Perhaps too much time in a house with 4 cats?
  • Laughing – especially when she’s a bouncy spider on Mummy’s lap, or being crooned to in Italian by Nonna.
  • Learning how to remove and reinsert her dummy by herself – the first evidence of her pincer grip.
  • Standing up on laps, rather than sitting.  We think she’ll be an early walker since her legs are so strong.
  • Sleeping from 7pm til 6am with a 10.30pm dreamfeed.  If only her Mummy could stop waking at 4am expecting to be needed I’m sure she’d be getting that much sleep too!
  • Getting her doo styled by Daddy:

3 Comments leave one →
  1. katery permalink
    March 9, 2010 2:30 am

    so cute! is a dummy a pacifier?

  2. The Barreness permalink*
    March 9, 2010 7:56 am

    Yep – I’ve also learned it’s called a ciuccio in Italian (pronounced choo-choo). She gets it to help with sleep settling

  3. March 19, 2010 1:48 am

    your bub is just adorable.

    I feel the same about a return to work, every moment is so precious 🙂

Leave a Reply

