Skip to content

I don’t know how my mother did it

March 10, 2010

I’ve just finished packing one baby and myself for a two week trip back home to New Zealand, and it’s 9pm and I’m exhausted.  My mother on the other hand prepared a family of 5 to move another country every 2 years when I was growing up, and seemed to do it with relative ease. Although she was able to just ring a team of burly movers to help, so perhaps that’s the secret!

I’m also anxious about the plane trip tomorrow, since she had her 4 month shots today and may be feeling more fragile than normal.  To top it off, the Baron and his parents won’t be sitting with me, so I’ll have to handle Lady G and any meltdowns by myself at the very front of the plane (to make it more convenient for childfree adults to glare at me, of course!).  I’m sure it won’t be that bad really – it’s just the anticipation that’s the killer.  Any hints from the more experienced?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 11, 2010 1:59 am

    Despite quite a few flights I really have no ‘advice’ about flying with a 4 month old – they’re too young for new toys, food treats, etc. So my only completely non-practical advice is not to let anyone get you down. Airplanes are NOT sanctuaries for the single businessman. You are a paying customer, and you have every bit as much right to be there as anyone else. And if you fly a lot at some point your daughter will have a meltdown on a plane or a train or a bus or a boat and it will be awful for you and embarrassing and then she will go back to being her usual, charming self and only you will remember the incident. I hope you have a smooth flight!

    • The Barreness permalink*
      March 14, 2010 3:37 pm

      Thanks so much for this comment! I read it just before I got on the plane, and it reassured me that if she did act up a little, it would be fine. And in fact, she had a little squark or two when we took off (she’d been sleeping and was made to wake up to be seatbelted in), then fell asleep and slept so long we had to wake her just before we landed. So all that worry for nothing! On arrival I apologised to the people sitting behind us, who were too facinated with Lady G’s mohawk to worry about any sounds she’d made.

  2. March 19, 2010 1:45 am

    It takes me so long to get ready to leave the house, I don’t at all envy you geting ready for a trip! Glad to read it wasn’t as stressful as you thought.

Leave a Reply

