Skip to content

There’s no place like home?

March 17, 2010

Wellington. Not today, but some days.

Well, as to be expected from being exposed to both the first toddlers of her life and the rather more tempestuous weather of Wellington, Lady G has come down with her very first cold.  So far it’s not been too bad, but it’s made sleeping at night a little harder (for both her and her mummy!  We’re lucky it’s a mild case, since I already feel helpless enough.  It’s very hard watching her feel just a little crap, but not being able to do very much about it.  Instead, we’ve  been taking it easy the last couple of days, and have sent The Baron and The Nonnis out on various expeditions while she and I hole it up in my parents’ house overlooking Wellington harbour.

It’s lovely to be ‘home’ – I spent 15 years here, and know it intimately – but I’m finding that each time I come back things have changed just a little more, and I don’t think it will be long before I start feeling like a tourist here.  We wrestle with this – neither of us are from Wellington or even New Zealand originally, but we met here and have friends and family that we miss.  But life in Melbourne is great – better job opportunities, better weather, not to mention cheaper IVF – and we don’t know whether we’ll be back to live here again.

I’m writing this looking out my parents’ windows down across the harbour and up the valley beyond.  Despite the rain and wind today which is swathing much of the view in mist, it’s without argument a much more attractive city than Melbourne, with the picturesque wooden houses cascading down the hills toward the harbour and a surrounding ring of green from the city belt.  If it was only 10 degrees warmer here all the time, it might be an easier decision!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 17, 2010 4:04 pm

    I hope she feels better soon. The first cold is always the scariest. We were in Wellington a few years ago and it was just beautiful…I love the pic.

  2. katery permalink
    March 18, 2010 10:56 pm

    oh my gosh, absolutely stunning. new zealand has always been my dream vacation, i would LOVE to go there. sorry baby girl got sick, i hope she is feeling better soon.

  3. March 19, 2010 1:51 am

    What a beautiful picture. I want to get to NZ one of these days, it seems so crazy to not visit somewhere so close.

    Sorry to hear you little one is ill, I hope she is feeling better soon.

    I love Melbourne, hubby is from there and we consider moving back all the time but we do love the lifestyle of the coast.

  4. March 23, 2010 6:14 am

    Beautiful! I definitely need to get to NZ!!!!!

    ICLW

Leave a Reply

