Skip to content

The game plan

March 31, 2010
tags:

Subsequent to my last post, I’ve done a little reading which suggests that this sort of disturbed sleep is not uncommon at around 5 months – and several things I’ve been doing may be excacerbating it!  Good to know…

So from here on out, the plan is to reduce/remove the dummy from use – I have realised I spend a lot of time reinserting it to get her to go to sleep, which apparently means when she wakes in the night she looks for me to put it back in.  I also need to not be so quick to offer the night feeds (unless absolutely necessary), as this is also encouraging her to believe she needs to suck in order to fall alseep.  Instead, I need to reinforce the sleep routine with the use of her sleeping bag and comforter throughout the day.

All sounds reasonable in practice – but I’ve been standing her for 15 minutes as she drifts in and out of sleep crying for her dummy (I’ve resisted giving it to her, but have wandered over periodically to rub her back so she doesn’t feel completely abandoned) – and I feel like the worst Mum in the world.

Relief – she just dropped off.  Clearly she is really dependent on the dummy as I flipped the corner of her cuski in her mouth, she sucked madly for a few seconds and then was out like a light.  I guess the next few days are going to be fun as I try to put this into action.  Not really sure what to do at night now, other than to hand her the cuski and perhaps pat her until she drops off again.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Nine permalink
    March 31, 2010 6:35 pm

    I started reading this blog through her other foodblog ( which has some INSANELY yummy stuff, btw) , but a lot of what she is going through reminds me of you. http://legendofzephyr.blogspot.com/

  2. April 1, 2010 4:51 am

    I keep wondering why they don’t make baby ballgags. Why can’t we just strap the pacifier to their faces?

    Zephyr sucks on his fists now, but since he’s swaddled at night, he can’t get to them. I consider myself lucky, though, that he rejected the cuski after about a week.

Leave a Reply

