Skip to content

Pear scare

April 20, 2010

Had a feeding mishap with Lady G today, and it was totally my fault, as I forgot the baby-led weaning protocol that the only things to go into a baby’s mouth should be things they put in their mouth themselves.  I was demonstrating how completely yummy pear is by eating a mouthful myself, and then passing it to her, when she bent forward and bit off a huge chunk which she began chewing, then paused and started to gag on.

I heaved her out of the chair and a few taps on the back later, pear puree was on the floor and mummy had a fake smile on her face to show The Bee that everything was good, and there was nothing to be scared of.  But hell, those few seconds until I could be sure she hadn’t stopped breathing were very long indeed.  Patience, patience, patience needs to be my mantra with this feeding thing, as this is what is going to happen if I rush her.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Nine permalink
    April 20, 2010 10:27 pm

    I’m actually fairly good proof that you can choke on things you put into your own mouth. I think she is developing her aunts “snarfing” tendency. Never did me no harm!

  2. April 21, 2010 12:01 am

    Both of mine gagged on pear today too. We are in sync.

  3. katery permalink
    April 21, 2010 7:54 am

    oh my gosh, that must have been scary! glad she’s ok.

Leave a Reply

