Skip to content

Keeping up with the Joneses

April 30, 2010

Feeling like we were on to something, I steamed up some sweet potato, carrot and pumpkin for The Bee to eat today and served them up with high expectations.  And while she eventually took a piece of each from me and gnawed on them for a bit she didn’t really seem to react in a ‘man, gotta get me more of that!’ way and very little if anything got swallowed.  I think it’s pretty clear that she’s still not quite ready to be eating solids despite being determined to reach for everything that goes near my mouth.

I’m finding this hard – it’s difficult for me to remain patient and not to try to take over this and push food on her when I can tell it’s not her thing yet.  I think this is made worse by knowing that most of the other babies in our mother’s group are forging ahead (one mum today mentioned her bub is chowing down on 4 tbsp of food a session).  I know we’re forging different paths, me with the baby-led weaning and everyone else happy with purees and spoonfeeding, but I’m a little concerned that I’m doing her – already one of the smaller babies – a diservice.

I need to remind myself that she’s happy, sleeping like a dream and very chirpy, and in the end that’s all that should matter.  But to be honest I am feeling pressured to make sure she keeps up with the rest of the group.   I better get over this quick though – she’s always going to do things at her own pace and I don’t ever want her to feel I’m concerned or disappointed with what she’s doing.

She’s got her next weigh in on Monday – I should really wait and see what this looks like and if she’s still tracking on around the 10-15% percentile I really should stop worrying now shouldn’t I!

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 1, 2010 1:35 am

    Just to say, it’s common for weight gain to slow down until BLW picks up!!

    Your baby will have better fine motor skills, self-trust, and a good relationship with food. It’s SUPPOSED to take awhile for them to go whole hog – many babies don’t really get going till around 8 or 9 or 10 months!

Leave a Reply

