Skip to content

A very bold life

May 3, 2010

Perhaps because I’ve got less to distract me while I’m not working, but I find I’m spending a lot of time at the moment really thinking about what I would like my life to be like.

I was inspired by a podcast I listen to.  The couple initially decided to escape the Wisconsin winter by spending 3 months in Costa Rica, and loved it so much they are now making this move permanent through any means possible, including setting up a B&B.   They dreamed it, and they’re making it happen.

My big problem was that I didn’t actually know what our big idea would be.  So this year I gave us a challenge to determine what we really want out of life, and then to come up with some steps to get there.  Money, time, location and practicality no limit at this point in planning our Very Bold Life.  (Practicalities will come later).

I’ve got a couple of ideas brewing, but was interested when I stumbled across a list of the 10 things science says will make you happy.  They seem really simple, but as I read through the list I found myself agreeing that if I could do a little towards each point, I think I’d find more of the the inner serenity I’m looking for.  And check out number 4!

  1. Savour everyday moments
  2. Avoid comparisons [ooh, sounds familiar!]
  3. Put money low on the list
  4. Have meaningful goals
  5. Take initiative at work
  6. Make friends, treasure family
  7. Smile even when you don’t feel like it
  8. Get out and exercise
  9. Give it away, give it away now

Perhaps that can be simply summed up in the motto of another site I visit “…live simply, work hard, and find everyday beauty.”

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 8, 2010 12:48 am

    aw – You have no idea how please I am that I may have inspired you – I’m thinking of getting some t-shirts printed with my motto…or is that WAY too cheezy?!!?

Leave a Reply

