Skip to content

Time to be a big girl

May 14, 2010
tags: ,

And let my baby sleep in her own room tonight.  I’m finding this a real wrench, and I haven’t even gone to bed yet!

We have kept her in our room until now as SIDS for Kids recommend babies sleep in their parents’ room until at least 6 months.  But she’s pretty much outgrown her bassinette, and her grunting and yodelling during the night is making my already light sleep even lighter.  So earlier in the week I set a deadline, we’ve transferred the cat-net onto her cot, set up the baby monitor and thunderbirds are go as of tonight.

I know this is really good for her and for us – so why do I feel so emotional about it?  Perhaps because it’s the loss of just another small physical connection between the two of us, which started with her birth, and will finish with her weaning in just a few months.

In my fragile state, I happened across a book today which was just perfect for me to read to her tonight called I’ll see you in the morning:

I’ll see you in the morning, for now it’s time to sleep.
I will stay and watch a while, til you are counting sheep.
Don’t be afraid of darkness.  Don’t be afraid my sweet.
The night is just a blanket that helps the earth to sleep.
Creatures great and creatures small will all be sleeping soon,
Under the same blanket, under the same moon.
So close your eyes and go to sleep by the light of the moon above.
I’ll see you in the morning in the light of the sun my love.
Dream your dreams of moonbeams.  Let the night become your friend.
The twinkling stars will keep you safe till morning comes again.
I’ll be here if you need me, I’m only steps away.
So close your eyes and go to sleep and dream of a brand new day.
Good night – sleep tight – I’ll see you in the morning!



6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 15, 2010 7:13 am

    So how was it?

    • The Barreness permalink*
      May 15, 2010 9:14 am

      All went well until 5 when she wriggled her way off the sensor pad, setting off the alarm. She’s done it before, so I knew she was almost certainly fine, but she and I were both woken so I had to do a feed anyway. But… I just woke up now at 8 to find we’d all slept in! I’ve missed pilates, but I think it was worth it. Not as bad as I was expecting really all things considered. The anticipation is almost always worse.

      Sent from my iPhone

  2. Roo's Mumma permalink
    May 15, 2010 2:33 pm

    Brave girl (you, not her…she probably couldn’t give a rats…!) But it’s horribly hard on Mummy. Tonight will be a whole lot easier for you. It’s all practice for when they eventually move out of home. *Sigh*

  3. May 16, 2010 12:42 am

    oh I’m dreading this step, I hope it is all going well. That book sounds great though, which is it?

  4. katery permalink
    May 16, 2010 4:17 am

    wow, i had to move louise into her own room quite a while ago or i wouldn’t be getting any sleep at all, i’m already a light sleeper so every little grunt and groan she made would wake me up. i love the poem/book, especially because it doesn’t seem to turn into something religious as most things like that seem to, what is it called?

Leave a Reply

