Skip to content

Someone else’s safe place

May 23, 2010

It’s taken me a while to get my head around the fact that I’m someone’s mum now.  I think the effort and concentration required to keep her alive and thriving often distracts me from this fact.  But I had an insight into my new role the other night when Bee woke up unusually around 9pm, screaming her little heart out.  No amount of shushing or rocking could calm her, so I took her out of her room and into the warmth and light of the living room.  A few final shuddering cries and then she looked around the room, leant against me and relaxed.

I had a flashback to my own childhood, when the rules against getting up once you’d gone to bed could be bent if something was truly distressing.  Yes, there was partly the ilicit thrill of being in ‘adultland’ which only appeared when we went to bed, but how wonderful and safe it felt to be snuggled up with Mum and Dad who could make everything all right.

And now it’s our turn to be someone else’s safe place – and it feels even better than being in my own.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 23, 2010 11:21 pm

    Congratulations on your transition to motherhood, enjoy every minute of it.

    Happy ICLW!!
    #40 http://thegalwho.wordpress.com/

  2. May 24, 2010 5:04 am

    Your baby girl was born on my baby girl’s due date. Isn’t it wonderful! We’re having such a terrific time with her. Thanks for stopping by my blog.

  3. May 24, 2010 9:08 pm

    What a beautiful thought, being someone’s safe place. I love that.

  4. May 24, 2010 11:03 pm

    Thanks for stopping by my blog and offering your kind words. What an amazing feeling it must be to parent after IF. I have always thought that IF will make me a more grateful parent, it certainly seems to have worked that way for you.

  5. May 26, 2010 4:27 am

    My daughter is 9 now, and I’m sometimes still surprised that I’m in charge. I sometimes still want my own mommy.

    And, like you, it’s great to be snuggled against and able to make the world right.

    *ICLW*

Leave a Reply

