Skip to content

When in ancient Rome

June 4, 2010

OK, so this will be familiar territory to many of you doing baby-led weaning.  All the other bubs at mothers’ group are now regularly chowing down on baby puree by the several tablespoon; Baby Bee is by contrast only dabbling with the idea of food – it’s far more fun watching Mummy eat and make funny ‘mmm’ noises than to go to all the effort of chewing and swallowing.  She’s still not great at swallowing, and completely rejects any attempt to get a spoon into her mouth when I’ve tried thinking that perhaps I’ve been doing it wrong.

It’s admittedly hard coping with the solicitous questions about how her BLW is going, while all of the other babies takes their turn in the high chair and leave orange with carrot and pumpkin puree.  I’ve been feeling worried that I can’t find a good time to feed her, distressed when she seems disinterested, and horrified at the amount of food I’ve been throwing away.

But I have renewed confidence about teaching her to eat this way, particularly after re-reading sections of Gill Rapley’s book.  Basically the past few days I’ve been offering her my food when I eat, and I think this is working well.  She’s been such a parrot when it comes to my coffee cup (my turn for a suck now!), and is equally interested in watching me eat, and occasionally reaches out a paw for a taste.  I do have to think about what I can order which is baby friendly (read, limited salt and sugar, easy to deal with with fingers or a spoon) – but so far in the past few days she’s given things like corn fritters, toast, egg, brie, mozzarella and pasta a taste.

I’m feeling a whole lot less stressed, and it’s becoming a game for me to see what I can encourage her to pick up or lick – anything that makes it into her mouth is a bonus.

But having examined the contents of her nappies recently like a Etruscan soothsayer peering over the entrails, I can predict that the future looks bright – there is evidence of food!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 4, 2010 10:59 pm

    I think you are both doing well! Just keep reminding yourself that it really doesn’t matter how much she eats until she’s 1. Genuinely doesn’t. It can be very hard to figure out how to squeeze solids in – we’re only having one solid meal a day, and I think we’re all happy with it!!

    Snort is also an easting machine – and this only just happened since he learned to crawl and can put himself in a sitting position. Has made a huge difference.

    Coco is Coco, and a big fan of food from the start.

    Some days they eat a lot, some days they just play, but the older they get the more than shifts. Carry on – it’s a brilliant way to learn to eat!

    • The Barreness permalink*
      June 5, 2010 11:04 pm

      Thank you for your encouragement! Hearing about how well your bubs have taken to it is one of the things that keeps me going.

  2. June 7, 2010 8:44 pm

    I’m here from ICLW…This sounds soooo familiar. We did exclusive breastfeeding for the 1st 6 months and after that we had some interest in pureed foods, but I’m talking about a few tablespoons here and there even after other kids had moved on to jars full of the stuff.

    My daughter happened to be one of those kids who *loved* breastfeeding and we followed her lead. She wasn’t fully weaned until 20 months and it was only then that she *really* and truly seemed to take an interest in more significant quantities of food. But I’m perfectly happy with the way things went for all of us (and our family doctor concurred) so we just told anyone else (i.e. in-laws) who worried that she wasn’t eating enough that breastmilk is a perfectly adequate (more than!) source of nutrition. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

