Skip to content

A tale of 3 prams

June 14, 2010

I can’t believe that I’m one of those people who stockpiles prams – but she’s 7 months old and we’re onto our 3rd pram, although hopefully it will be our last. (Oh, and believe me I’m aware of how ridiculous this all is – sheesh, it’s just a seat with wheels).

We started off with a Mountain Buggy.

Overwhelmed by choice I simply told the salesperson I wanted a pram I could run with and she recommended this – it was made in New Zealand – and the decision was made.  Basic, functional and very mobile for its size, and a good compliment for the the mai tai sling I use.  But pretty bulky (I can’t get it through some supermarket checkouts), so we got a Silvercross Fizz for overseas travel.

I think this will prove its worth as she gets a little older because at the moment she won’t sleep in it and still needs to nap while we’re out.  In fact I didn’t take it to NZ last week – the sling was all I needed (although it helps that she’s still well under 8kg!)

But, the MB faces outwards and I wanted something which could face either forwards or backwards, and something which would offer flexibility if we are successful in TTC#2 sometime next year (the MB only offers a toddler board which wouldn’t be suitable for a little toddler).  So the MB is destined for eBay.

Instead, we bought a Baby Jogger City Select which turned even the heads of the staff in Mothercare on its first outing today.

Yep, we've scotchguarded it already...

This amazing pram allows you to use any combination of 2 bassinets, car seats or toddler seats to suit you and your bubs – or use it as a single which is what we are doing at the moment.

Musical chairs.

It’s got a capacious basket as well, which is great as I do all the shopping with the pram, since our only car goes to work with The Baron.  My only niggles are that it’s still a wide load pram (but less than the MB), is going to be heavy with 2, and doesn’t have a good spot for my morning latte.  I guess one day they will design the perfect pram, but I’m on a buying ban until then.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. katery permalink
    June 14, 2010 11:27 pm

    wow, that is a pretty bad ass stroller but i think my husband would murder me if i spent $500 on a stroller 🙂

  2. The Barreness permalink*
    June 14, 2010 11:33 pm

    We’re at the mercy of the AUD – hard to find anything much below that here! Bugaboos and Stokkes are around the $1,800 mark.

  3. June 15, 2010 12:00 am

    OMG I want. Please let us know how it goes as you use it more often. I’ve got the strider dlx and it’s huge but I love it, this looks fantastic though.

    • The Barreness permalink*
      June 15, 2010 12:07 am

      Cool, will do. FYI Strider do a version of this with slightly fewer options (called the Strider Plus, in either 3 or 4 wheels), but it wasn’t as positively reviewed and I felt it was too heavy when I tried pushing it around. But given the Australian RRP of the BJSC is $949 and the Strider is closer to $599, it could be worth a look. I ended up buying my BJCS from overseas given the cost. Cheaper to ship it in!

Leave a Reply

