Skip to content

Need not apply

June 21, 2010

There are many things I love about my beautiful suburb – it’s easy access to the river and to the bush, the variety of small retailers selling good food and the close community feel.  The thing I don’t like about it is that everyone else seems to like these things too.  That’s why there is apparently a 2 year waiting list for the council childcare facilities.

We’ve been on the list since I was 14 weeks pregnant, and I’ve been told we won’t get any cover this year – perhaps January.  I go back to work in October.  Umm…

So I’m investigating other options.  There are a couple of private child care centres, although they are reluctant to confirm places for October, as they’d rather keep themselves open to filling that space earlier.  Besides, I can’t seem to warm to either of these – one won’t support my use of cloth nappies, is small and the bathrooms smelt (not a good sign).  The other offers great facilities for 18 month+, but is not so good for babies.  Locationwise it’s not that convenient either, and even though I’ll have to walk there, they makes you leave your pram outside on the street all day (not sure why!).

One of the other mums from group who’s in the same situation as me and I are now thinking about sharing a nanny for the months until we can get space in the childcare.  I think this is going to be the best situation for me – I like the thought of her transitioning into care by being left with a single carer in a location she’s familiar with with only 1 other child, and it means she’ll get to childcare when she can walk and talk (perhaps 14-15 months at a minimum).

We can either go through an agency, or a ‘dating’ service.  Given my past experiences with online dating (the actual clown, the guy who roasted corned beef), I think we’ll go professional this time!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

