Skip to content

On the move

June 22, 2010

After a couple of weeks of wobbling, bellyflopping and general lollygagging, Lady G finally put it all together, put one hand in front of the other, and crawled.  She did require an incentive of course, which was to knock down Mummy’s carefully constructed tower of blocks (destruction is always more alluring than creation).  Coolness!

I know this means I will need to watch her like a hawk, so I’m searching eBay for an exersaucer to put her into when I need to do things like make a cup of tea, hang out washing or have a quick shower.  Pretty much everything else is childproofed (although I have no idea what to do about the cat litter) so I don’t have issues with her wandering when I’m around – I but it will be good for those times when I need 10 minutes of certainty.

She’s also going through a clingy stage at present.  Why does the penny on these things always drop about a week after the behaviour begins?  The past couple of weeks have seen her waking at 3 or 4 and I’ve dutifully fed her thinking she was hungry.  But then she did it at 12 and 3 (after a 10.30 dream feed), and started howling during the day when I put her down to play, so clearly some separation anxiety is occuring.   It’s time to stop night feeding after the dream feed, and work on her self-settling skills, since she’s clearly waking and just wanting some company.  Shame we can’t train one of the cats to give her a quick cuddle so I can sleep!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 22, 2010 8:28 pm

    Yay Baby G!!!! The world is your playpen!! And cat poop is not a toy…..

    • The Barreness permalink*
      June 23, 2010 9:17 am

      You’re just not doing it right then!

Leave a Reply

