Skip to content

In the picture

June 24, 2010

Thank you to Roo's Mamma for knowing how important a photo can be.

This seems to be a very common complaint – following the birth of a baby, mum is busy behind the lens of the camera taking lovely shots of a proud papa with his bub, doting grandparents with the child in their arms, and image after image of the new arrival as they pass each milestone.  But despite all the camera action, there are very few photos of mum with her baby.

I’m completely guilty of this, as I don’t like my photo being taken at the best of times and much prefer to be on the other side of the camera – but gosh wouldn’t I like a few lovely photos of me and my girl so that I can look back on this really precious time we’ve had.

And I know I’m not the only one who has darker thoughts too – of my baby growing up without me, with only the sound of my voice from behind the video camera and a few blurry shots from a not-very-good-at-photography Baron to know how much she was loved.

I might have to start carrying the camera around with me and thrusting it at random people in order to capture us together!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. michelehaytko permalink
    June 25, 2010 4:29 am

    what a gorgeous picture. 🙂

  2. June 25, 2010 5:45 am

    This picture captures your love and tenderness! You are so right! Mommies need to step from behind the camera and into the frame! Have a great week!

  3. katery permalink
    June 27, 2010 12:45 am

    adorable, both of you!

  4. June 29, 2010 4:25 am

    Gosh, I hadn’t thought if it that way. I’m not the biggest fan lately of getting my picture taken, and I’m certain that after the birth I will want to be as far from a camera as possible, but this makes me think differently. The picture is absolutely adorable.

    Thanks for making me think differently!

    http://subfertilefrugalista.blogspot.com
    ICLW

  5. July 1, 2010 11:13 pm

    this photo is lovely, really really lovely.

    I hate having my photo taken but I’m trying to make a real effort to have ones of me and D taken not just for me to look back on but because I’m totally morbid and think along those same lines and if anything was to happen I want to be more than a fuzzy memory.

Leave a Reply

