Skip to content

You know it’s bad when a lentil makes you happy

June 26, 2010

Baby led weaning has ground to a halt here in the Barreness’s castle, and I am happy to admit it’s frustrating the hell out of me.  Yes, she’s still picking up food and tasting it, but every single mouthful is spat out in a volley of raspberries.  Perhaps it’s teething?

Luckily I have already supersized the bibs (from baby size, to teatowel with a hole, to all encompassing artsmock with arms), but everything ends up covered.  When we have porridge in the morning she’s a big fan of grabbing the bowl of the spoon with her hands as well as the stem and fingerpaints on the high chair tray.  I’m a neat freak so you know this aspect of BLW is hard going!

OK, back to square 1 – focus less on what she’s eating, and more on what she’s trying.  Today she chewed on a piece of roti that came with my dhal at lunch and swallowed a single lentil, seeming to enjoy the heavy-on-the-cumin sauce.  So that’s pretty good.  And all the cafe staff complemented us on how well she behaved, which given her efforts at breakfast (see above) is also something to be thankful for.

From what I’ve read it’s not uncommon for babies to be slow at actually eating food in the first year, and as long as she’s still happy playing, I should just relax and let it be.  Easier said than done – I can’t but help feel that I’m not doing this right even though I know that’s not really possible.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 27, 2010 4:17 am

    The only way to not do it right is to stop doing it!! She sounds perfectly normal.

    Mine do the raspberry thing sometimes too – did it a lot when they had first mastered the trick and were delighted at the added result of doing it with food in their mouths!

    We are now in crazy land. We ‘double bib.’ I’m gonna have to write a post about this!! Heh.

  2. June 28, 2010 3:06 am

    I think all parents feel that way at that stage.

    She is still getting everything she needs from her formula so everything else is just a bonus. And she is getting practice trying different things 🙂

    Good luck!!

  3. June 28, 2010 3:08 am

    I’m sorry– I said formula out of habit. (we’re adopting)

Leave a Reply

