Skip to content

It’s what’s for dinner

June 29, 2010

I have a thousand cookbooks weighing down a shelf in our kitchen, and yet I’m often scratching my head as to what to cook for dinner.  Yeah, now I’m the ‘housewife’, I’m doing all the cooking and most of the cleaning – which is a rant I shall leave for a time when I am good and hyped up on caffeine.  Let me just be clear that things will be radically different when I head back to work.

I must have a masculine brain, as I respond to the visual, which is why Foodgawker is such a wonderful thing.  Type in an ingredient you have to hand, and up pops a plethora of posts from foodie bloggers with lovely foodstylie pictures to accompany them.  Simply choose what looks good, and that’s what’s for dinner.  Reason #344 why I love me some internets.

Some things though might not feature on my menu any time soon though – salted blueberry agave milkshake anyone?  I’m sure it would be lovely if it wasn’t so purple.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Heather King permalink
    June 30, 2010 3:33 am

    Just wanted to leave a note to say that I got this link from Straight Dope, and have enjoyed reading back to the beginning.

    My son Owen is now 23 months, but reading through your trials and tribulations of the last 6 months have made me smile. So many memories!

    Definitely hang in there on the baby-led weaning. My son took a while to catch on to the food thing too, and there were times when we back-slid, and he wasn’t eating at all. But just try to relax, and it’ll all happen as it’s supposed to, when it’s supposed to. You’re doing great!

  2. The Barreness permalink*
    June 30, 2010 9:13 pm

    I love hearing these encouraging things from people who have been there, done that. If it’s a sweet nostalgic memory for you now, I can only hope that it will be for me too!

Leave a Reply

