Skip to content

A long time ago in a galaxy far far away

July 15, 2010

Lady G is definitely eating more.  Perhaps it’s the steady diet of custard (relax, I promise vegies and fruit are being included), or it may simply be to humour her sightly deranged Mamma who’s been humming the Star Wars theme while conducting with the spoon in an attempt to KEEP FOOD FUN!

Regardless, it’s leaps and bounds better than it was, and what’s a little Star Wars mania between friends (could be worse, I could be filmed and put on YouTube like that kid with the lightsaber).

The extra food doesn’t seem to be improving the sleep thing though – the past 2 nights she’s woken around 2 and I’ve fed her, and then spent the next 2 hours trying to get her to go back to sleep, while she cried each time I tried to put her down.  What’s with that??  I’ve googled it but can’t seem to find a cause, so I’m at a loss, and just hoping things go a little more smoothly tonight.

Incidently, Paki has just come back from a trip to Canada and brought me a book I found recommended on Ask Moxie, called Bed Timing by Marc Lewis and Isabela Granic.  It covers the different developmental stages kids go through from birth to 4 years, and how to adjust your sleep training techinques accordingly.  Or not; 8-11 months is noted as one of the worst times to try sleep training, particularly anything involving a cry-it-out or modified cry techinque.

Basically it suggests that it’s really important right now for her to get a response from me when she cries out in the night, and other than trying to be consistent with routines, there’s very little else I can do right now.  It’s reassuring to hear this (since it’s kind of what my intuition is telling me), and they also rather cheeringly suggest that in a month or two this will all blow over and my great little sleeper will be back.  Until she goes again around about 13 months…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 16, 2010 2:27 am

    So glad to read she’s eating more 🙂

  2. July 16, 2010 10:01 am

    I adore Ask Moxie! I may have to get that book, too. It sounds like a good book to read if you are having sleep problems. And I am having sleep issues, too!

Leave a Reply

