Skip to content

Running amok

August 2, 2010
tags: ,

Point of interest – G ate nothing today.

But I’ve decided that rather than focus on that, I’ll talk about what we had for dinner instead, my attempt at making a fish amok, a Cambodian curry we ate a lot when we were there last year.

I adapted the recipe from Cooking The Books since we were out of shrimp paste and galangal, but did steam the whole thing.  I think for next time I won’t bother with this step – would be easier to just cook it in a saucepan and I’m not sure what it added.  But it was lovely and despite it being cuisine from a hot country, was just the thing for a cold day, using the fresh chilli, lemongrass and kaffir lime leaves from our garden that Granny planted when Lady G was first born.

Curry paste:
1 fresh red chilli
3 cloves garlic
1cm ginger
2 stalks of lemongrass
1 kaffir lime leaf
1 tsp salt

Amok
500g of rocking fish, chopped into 2cm chunks
1Tbsp fish sauce
500ml light coconut milk
1 egg
Mangetout peas, sliced
Red capsicum, sliced
Mushrooms quartered

I bashed up the paste in a mortar and pestle, then beat in the egg, before adding the coconut milk, fish sauce and fish and the vegies, since I must add vegies to everything.  Steamed for 30 min, but as I said, I think I’d skip this since it didn’t custardise like CTB suggested it would. With the vegies it made a good dinner for two, with plenty left over for lunch with some roti.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 3, 2010 8:48 pm

    Ooh, great timing, I just said to the Tall Guy that I wanted fish amok!!!

Leave a Reply

