Skip to content

Pretty virtuous food

August 8, 2010

I don’t know what it is about Japanese food, but I always feel virtuous when I eat it. In addition to it being winter (which is all about comfort food anyway), at the moment I have the most uncontrollable sweet tooth which I swear is due to breastfeeding so it’s nice to eat something which feels clean and healthy for a change – this time it’s prawn gyozas.

I’m still getting the hang of folding the wonton wrappers into nice sharp pleats, but I think this is just a matter of doing lots of them and working out the technique as you go. I’ve adapted the recipe from a book of Asian food from Williams-Sonoma, but I think you can pretty much go off-piste with the contents – I’m quite tempted to do an Italian version or a dessert version at some point – imagine these hot and oozing with banana and melted chocolate! (Damn sweet tooth).

Prawn gyoza
1/4c fresh or dried shitake mushrooms
2c chopped cabbage (I used wombok, some choy sum and water chestnuts you could add whatever vegies you like)
1c chopped prawns (but you can use pork or something else if you like, I just don’t eat meat)
1/2c garlic chives
1 Tbsp each of soy sauce and sesame oil
1 1/2 tsp mirin
1 1/2 tsp minced ginger
1 clove minced garlic
1 1/2 Tbsp cornflour
Round wonton wrappers (I find this makes enough for 30-40 gyoza)
Canola/peanut oil
Vegie stock
Dipping sauce of your choice

Mix together all ingredients, and then wet the edges of each wrapper before filling with a spoonful of the filling. To pleat, fold in half, and then pinch the edges together at one end, Using your thumb and index finger start at the sealed end and make 4-5 pleats along the arc to enclose the filling completely. Press the bottom flat when done.

Heat a little oil and lay a single layer of the gyoza in a pan. Sear until golden brown on the bottom, then pour over 1/4c of stock and cover, allowing the gyoza to steam until the stock evaporates. Serve hot, although try not to eat them straight away as you will burn yourself (voice of experience!)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

