Skip to content

Discontinuing the 24 hour room service

August 11, 2010

During the 8 month sleep regression I became very tolerant of The Bee’s demands for feeding and comfort at night and gave her free reign of the boobie minibar.  It seems I have created a rod for my own back for this, since for the past few weeks she’s been waking every 3-4 hours demanding food – no amount of gentle shushing and patting seems to be able to get her back to sleep.  But much of the caterwauling ceased as soon as she was picked up, and while she drinks it is always leisurely so it’s pretty clear that she’s demanding the comfort of hugs and warmth, rather than trying to satisfy an empty tummy.

If I am ever going to be able to cope once I return to work in a couple of months, she really does need to be able to go at least 6 hours.  I hope this isn’t asking too much – it was what she was doing from around 8 weeks to 7 months, so I know she can do it.

I’m not a controlled cryer – I just can’t do it – but I am going to try some gentle modified techniques, basically the Sleep Right Sleep Tight method of going in and spending up to 10 minutes settling, then leaving for intervals of 2-10 minutes until she is finally asleep, or I give up.  Hopefully I am made of sterner stuff, but she is determined!

Case in point – she just woke at 8 (an hour after she went to sleep) and it took me almost 50 minutes to settle her back to sleep – clearly not hunger, and at least I know that the techniques work.  Hopefully it’s only a matter of a few days before we see some improvement.

I’m just not sure how I’m going to cope with the standing up – I guess I place her back down again – or do I leave her standing?  Worried she might fall and hurt herself if she gets wound up.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 13, 2010 2:30 am

    Good luck. I know how damning lack of sleep can be!

    I know ours were sleeping all the way through from 2 months (Coco) and 3/4 months (Snort) – and it all stopped just after 6 months. Part of me wonders if it isn’t due to baby led weaning. You know, because they are choosing how much to eat, etc and t first weren’t eating as much as a spponfed baby might have. They are eating hardcore now, and Coco is working back to going through the night (though she can do 9 pm – 6 am)……….but it’s always screwed by teething, etc etc.

    We’ve started giving Snort water in his second night feed (two feeds from 7 – 7, while she typically only has the one) to try to discourage waking.

    But still, babies wake with every new milestone. I tell you, once they are a few months older and walking and talking are more established, I HOPE my life will get easier. Yours too.

    Sorry for the novel.

    Let us know how it works – and if it works well, tell us in more detail what you did! We are not CIO people and I like that it apparently isn’t CC. Good luck!!

  2. The Barreness permalink*
    August 13, 2010 9:30 pm

    We’ve had 2 pretty successful nights (no feeds between 7pm-7am and only 1 wake at around 2 for up to 40 min of very gentle settling), so if we get a couple more good nights I’ll post more details. I just know if I do it before then I’ll jinx myself!

Leave a Reply

