Skip to content

Mmmm tasty

September 1, 2010
tags: ,

She’s not old enough for much in the way of creative play right now, but I’m keeping a mental note of interesting yet safe ways to introduce her to art.  I’ve seen a couple of fun things which I’m going to think about how to combine.

First, from Dr Frankenbaby is the idea of edible finger paint.  She used food colouring and yoghurt – and most sensibly a bath, as it appears to be a most agreeably messy way of play.  I think I’ll keep this one for the summer when I can hose The Bee off in the garden once we’re done.

I have very fond memories of PlayDough from my own childhood – like the smell of frangipani and my grandparents’ house it can bring back thoughts of my youth.  But as non-toxic as it is, perhaps it’s better reserved for when Lady G is a little bigger.  In the meantime, Minieco has a recipe for natural dyed playdough.  They use natural (and delicious sounding) ingredients like raspberries, beetroot, blueberries, tumeric and rose petals, and just check out the surprisingly vivid coloured dough they make.

I really like the idea of natural flavourings over the food colouring, and I’m going to investigate using the natural dye idea for the finger paint/yoghurt.  Might need to be careful though – some of those dyes can stain skin and The Bee might come out looking like an Easter egg!

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 2, 2010 12:23 am

    Have you seen Eco clay? We’re thinking of stocking it, aromaclay is supposed to be good too.

Leave a Reply

