Skip to content

Working 9 to 5

October 3, 2010

I start work again tomorrow – and feeling a little trepidation I have to confess!  Will this be the right thing for me, for her, for us as a family?

Relax chick – it’s only 2 days in the office with another from home at this point, so it’s hardly like I’m deserting her, or ‘letting someone else raise my child’ as I’ve heard a few people describe child care.  She’ll be happy and will have fun – and so will I.  Part of being a mother is providing all that she needs, and this will include the financial support for anything she needs, and a positive co-operative family showing how each member of a family can share the load and achieve both in and out of the home.

And the other thing I am reminding myself is that this is just a trial.  If it’s too hard, or not suiting her or me, I can always stop working, or look for a job which allows me to use my brain and creativity, while being more sympathetic to our needs right now.  So I’m going to reassess in 3 months and see how we’re all going.

I stumbled across this article this evening which was also good timing – and it’s reassured me that we’ve approached this in exactly the right way, and that the way I am feeling is completely normal.

Rule No. 1: Do not feel guilty.

Rule No. 2: Take pride.

Rule 3: Take your time, do your homework.

Rule 4: Involve your partner (if you have one) and resolve conflicts.

Rule 5: Protect quality time.

Rule 6: Know it will be hard.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 5, 2010 8:42 pm

    So how did it go?

    • The Barreness permalink*
      October 5, 2010 8:49 pm

      Work’s been goo, and I’m enjoying seeing everyone again. We’re in a state of flux though as we’re undergoing a restructure right now and so I’m likely to have a completely different set of managers in the next 6 weeks or so, so don’t have a lot of direction right now. G has been good and seems happy but not desperate when I get home which is a relief. However, she’s having trouble sleeping during the day – Mary Poppins has been finding it hard to settle her so she’s only had 1 nap a day for the past 2 days which means she’s pretty tired by the end of the day. I’m going to have to work on a single page of instructions for how to settle (at the moment she’s been trying to talk and sing to her to comfort her, which I think is having the opposite effect).

      Really tough as I know I could do it easily myself; but I’m not there, am I! So I’m really feeling guilty that she’s upset during the day and I can’t do much about it. I’m thinking it might even be worth getting Mary over one day this week to do a couple of hours of settling while I’m home to coach – but perhaps that’s a bit helicopter??

  2. katery permalink
    October 6, 2010 9:33 am

    i’m glad it seems to be going ok, it was hard the first few weeks for me, i almost quit but i’m REALLY glad i didn’t, i like going to work now.

  3. November 7, 2010 4:10 pm

    It’s also important to remember that to be the best mother that you can be it’s important that your needs are being met to so that you can stay sane! My partner was going stir crazy after being a stay at home mum for a year – she needed some alternative stimulation. Childcare allowed that, and the kids are far better off having a a couple of days away from mum, than to be with her every day and have her go banannas!

    Also, kids thrive on the interaction they get with other children and adults. Just be prepared for some unwanted “gifts” coming home from the childcare centre – we’ve had gastro in our house more times than I care to remember, so beware! 🙂

Leave a Reply

