Skip to content

The red wave

October 18, 2010

I’m glad I read other people’s blogs as well as writing my own.  Because of this I knew out immediately that The Bee had torn her frenulum somehow while biting the rails of her cot in protest at being put down to nap.  Which is kind of a good thing to work out, since the blood pouring from her mouth and pooling on the mattress was a little bit of a distraction.

Luckily it was quite a minor tear as these things go, and after a few minutes the bleeding stopped, and an hour later she was tucking into a dinner of mini gnocchi and broccoli with pesto – so pretty sure she was feeling OK.

But good on the Vic government – I rang the Maternal Child Health Line, who directed me to an afterhours doctor service who made a free-of-charge house call within an hour of me calling them – yes, free, and on a weekend!  A quick check to make sure she’d not damaged her teeth, lips or nose and he was on his way.

I’m concerned that The Bee is the only one who’s experienced any of the red stuff this week though.  I’m currently CD38, which is over a week late – no, don’t worry I’ve already done a test and it’s a BFN.  But it’s making me wonder what’s going on given I’ve been pretty much a 29/30 day regular ever since my period came back 6 months ago.  Frustrating too, since when you’re TTC you kind of want each cycle to be pretty quick so you can have another chance, and given our rough deadline of a cycle in the new year, we’re running out of time to see if we can do this the luddite way.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 30, 2010 1:37 am

    Hmmm. I wonder which blog had a torn frenulum in. *grin*

    Nosy, but when do you plan to cycle next year?? I’m thinking about when I will. Woulnd’t it be freaky if our next kids were so close in age, too??

    • The Barreness permalink*
      November 15, 2010 10:28 pm

      Thank you for forging a path to prepare me for my child. I have begun to suspect she’s reading your blog for ideas though – let’s hope she didn’t read the vagina/poo post though!

      We’re currently TTC the normal way (fat lot of use that will be, but there you go), and thinking of a cycle in Jan/Feb, since I don’t want to be heavily pregnant over Dec/Jan/Feb as it can get up to 45 here some days over summer. The drawback is that I’ll have to wean The Bee, and I want to give her as much time on the boob as I can. Crap. That’s in like 2 months. I don’t think I’m ready for that now I see it in writing!!!

Leave a Reply

