Skip to content

20% more

January 4, 2011

I was contacted over the Christmas break by the council child care waiting list people, letting me know that having put our name on the list when I was 14 weeks pregnant they can now offer me a place.  (That’s nearly 2 years in case you are counting).  It just so happens to be for the most in-demand centre in our area (small but well run, high parent involvement, easy walking distance and I can use my cloth nappies), so I have decided to put her name down for a day a week.

The timing is pretty fortunate.  I’ve been feeling that my current 3 day arrangement (2 in office, one from home) wasn’t really letting me get the work done that I needed to, and I was trying to work out a way to up my hours given that Miss N’s mum is not wanting to go to 4 days just yet and I can’t afford the nanny myself.

So, on Mondays The Baron will be working from home and looking after The Bee, 2 days will be with Mary Poppins, and I will drop her in part of the day on Thursdays to allow me to churn through a few hours at home, or head into the office if I need to.

I’m feeling pretty positive that this is a good next step.  I won’t use a full day of care so can have her in the morning and afternoon, and it leaves her with 4.5 days of parent care a week while exposing her to other kids and learning experiences (and yes, probably illnesses!), while making my working life easier.  The fact that  it increases my take home pay by an extra 20% will also be welcome given the IVF we need to pay for this year too.

And a small, but proud moment for me.  When I was being shown around the centre they mentioned that they offer a range of pureed food in the babies’ room and I was able to say that The Bee is capable and happy to eat anything the older kids would be eating, and is getting good at using a spoon and fork.  Thanks baby-led weaning!  She may not eat much in quantity, but she’s a champ with what she does consume.

Interestingly one of the mums in my mums’ group is a midwife, and she mentioned to me the other day that she’s heard that baby-lead weaning will become an officially recommended method for solid food introduction here, which I think is great.

As frustrating as I found the early stages when she didn’t want to eat anything, it’s more than proven it’s worth in her skill at handling lots of different textures, flavours and sizes, and her hand-eye coordination is excellent.  It’s also made going out to eat so much easier, since she’s generally happy to pick away at what we are each eating, so  I don’t always have to go to the effort of bringing her a separate lunch box or worrying about how to keep food cool and safe in the summer heat.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 5, 2011 12:08 am

    I just saw your comment on my blog… What a special connection our girls have! 🙂

  2. January 5, 2011 3:53 am

    Oh, and I meant to say, that I 100% agree with letting the child dictate things like eating. Bobby and Maya are food champions!

Leave a Reply

