Skip to content

Awful awful awful

February 22, 2011

Christchurch got hit again – less powerful than last time but much shallower and during the day so a lot more damage.  Estimates are that up to 400 people may have died, and many iconic buildings are now in ruins.  So awful I tear up each time it’s on the news.

It’s a real reality shock – a timely reminder that there are bigger things in the world than my reproductive system, and how very lucky I am to have all my friends and family safe and sound.  Roo’s Mamma has posted on Facebook about the need to do earthquake drills with little ones, and that she’s had to explain to a five year old that if something like that happens in Wellington, that Mummy and Daddy might not come right away.  Wellington’s also overdue a major tremor, so I guess it’s all dreadfully necessary.  I just want her to stay at the “Yes, Bee – that’s a banana” stage forever.

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 22, 2011 9:51 pm

    It’s made me a little glad that Bean didn’t arrive on it’s due date – I don’t want it’s birthday to be the anniversary of such a sad day.

Leave a Reply

