Skip to content

Take 2

March 7, 2011

Had a good session with the FS today, examining the progress (or not) of each of the 10 eggs from our last cycle.  From that he thinks the problem is most likely with sperm quality.  Besides the 2 immature eggs and the 3 that progressed, there were several that ‘fertilised’ but didn’t activate – more than likely due to damaged DNA in the sperm.

Because of this he’d like to try a slightly different ICSI treatment this time around involving hyaluronic acid binding called physiologic ICSI.  While they can eyeball an sperm’s quality based on motility and morphology, these give only a limited indication of the quality of the DNA they contain.  By identifying sperm which bind to hyaluronic acid (HA) on the outside of the egg (or a synthesised poymer version, since the HA is stripped off the egg for ICSI) they can better identify normal sperm with intact DNA, leading to improved fertilization rates and embryo quality.  Combined with a slightly higher Puregon dose (up to 350iu to try to get 12-15 eggs this time), and we should have a couple more chances up our sleeve.

So this makes me feel better.  I cope better when I have a plan of action and knowing there is something we can do to hopefully improve our odds makes me feel like we’re moving forwards, rather than going over the same ground again.

He’s also open to us trying a cycle despite our pending travel.  It will depend on when I get my period so the final word will be from my nurse once we know the timing – but I’ve resolved that an extra month won’t make any difference so that pressure is off as well.

So yeah – all good!  The only thing that would make things better would be a squeeze of my perfect perfect new niece, still nameless, but still lovely.  Next week, can’t wait!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 7, 2011 11:58 pm

    I’m the same, I need a plan – I don’t cope without one. I’m glad you have some answers and a plan for the next time.

  2. katery permalink
    March 9, 2011 12:29 pm

    sorry this cycle was a bust, i hope the new plan works out better.

Leave a Reply

