Skip to content

Waiting, waiting

March 22, 2011

I didn’t get a clear signal I ovulated this month; despite using OPK strips for the first time in a while, I never got a positive test, so I’m not entirely sure when I should expect my period.  Ideally it’s mid next week (although could be as early as this weekend), but if we see it before Tues/Wed it means we are out of luck for a cycle in early April since we head off to New Zealand next Thursday and won’t be back in time for bloods/ultrasound. (We just got back from NZ after a quick trip for a friend’s wedding, hence the radio silence on the blog.)

However, even if we are go for an early cycle, apparently my clinic is out of stock with the Orgalutran and they may have to delay me anyway.  Perhaps that’s normal, but I can’t believe that one of the two major IVF clinics in Melbourne could be completely out of stock of a key drug for the procedure.  Clearly I overestimate the power of the consumer.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 26, 2011 12:55 am

    The shortage is Australia- wide. Since the start of March there has been distribution problems due to an issue at the factory. It’s only made/distributed by one company and the shortage is around the world. Crazy huh!

    I’ll find out Tuesday what my treatment plan is – apparently it will depend on what drugs are available. Pretty much all clinics across Australia have had to cancel all antagonist cycles that started after 5 march or change them to flare or down the cycles… my Dr said they’re hoping it will be all sorted in a week or two.

    I still can’t get over the fact that there’s a shortage though, it makes me sad to think of how many couples have had to use it.

  2. March 26, 2011 12:56 am

    Stupid phone – * down the cycle = down reg cycle

  3. katery permalink
    April 6, 2011 2:07 pm

    i’ve got everything crossed for you, i hope things are going well
    xoxo

Leave a Reply

