Skip to content

End of stage 1

June 23, 2011

We had our 12 weeks scan this week which went pretty well; I’m still not absolutely happy about the Down’s Syndrome risk level we got of 1:1200 (I was spoilt by pregnancy #1 which was 1:7500), but my Ob has reassured me that that’s still very good for my age, and with a visible nasal bone and nuchal translucency of 1.2mm that things are absolutely fine.  I’m sure he’s right, but I do wish it was a little higher so that it would be clearly nothing to worry about.

I’m also apparently very low on Vit D – victim of wearing sunscreen every day and never getting out of the office during the day for even a few minutes.  But other than that things are going well, and now I just have to find the right time to mention it to my boss.

I headed back to work full time a couple of weeks ago (figuring that I was almost working full time and might as well be paid for it), and also knowing that getting maternity pay at my full salary would make a significant difference next year.  I have Lady G at home with me that day so I am exhausted by the end of it, but I think it will be worth it in the end.

We’re also hopefully booking ourselves a week away in Vanuatu in September; initially I was thinking we had spent too much on IVF to consider it, but my salary going up 20% and the knowledge that it will get so much more expensive to travel once The Bee is 2 in November means we are going to book it and just focus on enjoying ourselves.

The Bee is going well and is slowly adding words to her vocabulary – beans, aqua, mess and rice are the new words this week and it’s lovely to hear her voice, I can’t wait until she starts really chatting away.  That’s one of the benefits of having #2 quickly – I will get another year off with The Bee while she’s still small and learning so much, and I’m really looking forward to that.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 23, 2011 10:02 pm

    Glad everything is going well. Not that it means much to your particular situation, but my T21 (down’s syndrome) level risk was 1:418 (with the threshold at 1:250) with my first pregnancy…. Our toddler is a very happy and healthy little boy with absolutely no problems. So I think your OB is right. Wishing for a continued healthy and uneventful pregnancy.

  2. June 25, 2011 8:43 pm

    Only your baby would have aqua as one of their first words 🙂
    I loved Vanuatu – think would be the perfect place for a babymoon! And to replenish your Vit D stocks. Speaking of which, I’ve read on a US BF site that I should be supplementing Pugsley with vitamin D orally. Is that something you did with the Bee?
    You’ve still got a low low chance of DS, and it doesn’t sound like there are any other risk markers yet, but I know what you mean about wishing for a more definitive answer. xx

    • The Barreness permalink*
      June 25, 2011 9:15 pm

      In the letter my Ob sent me, it said that there is very little Vit D in breastmilk, and they recommend a liquid vitamin for babies called Pentavite – dosed at 0.45ml/day. I should check the milk we give G, as while it’s organic, I don’t think it’s fortified with additional D, which would be good. In the meantime I’m on a supplement and I get checked again at 28 weeks (after the holiday, good timing huh!) so hopefully I’ll be closer to normal.

      I forgot you’d been to Vanuatu – I was thinking it was Noumea, although it’s probably that a well. Interested in where you stayed/what you did – we’ve hopefully organised a 1br bungalow at one of the resorts with a separate living room and kitchen so that naps and bedtimes are easier, plus I want to shop at the markets and try some of the local produce!

Leave a Reply

